Pastoral structure

We have a clear distinction between the Lower School (Years 7 and 8) and the Upper School (Years 9, 10 and 11). Mrs van den Braak is the Head of Upper School; Mrs Salsbury is the Head of Lower School, supported by Mrs Lush-Smith, Assistant Head of Lower School.

We have five additional members of staff supporting the pastoral care of students at Cowplain. These are our Pastoral Leaders who, after your child’s tutor, are the first port of call should you have concerns about your child’s progress, achievement or enjoyment of school.

We welcome a positive and proactive partnership with parents. Please contact your child’s tutor at school about pastoral matters, or email the Pastoral Team:

Pastoral team
Head of Upper School Mrs L van den Braak
Head of Lower School Mrs J Salsbury
Assistant Head of Lower School Mrs S Lush-Smith
Senior Pastoral Leader Year 11 and Federation Inclusion Coordinator Mrs C Dodd
Pastoral Leader Year 10 and Community Mentor Coordinator Mr M Simmons
Pastoral Leader Year 9 and LGBT Coordinator Mrs D Creighton
Pastoral Leader Year 8 and Young Carers Coordinator Ms C Graham
Pastoral Leader Year 7 and Transition Coordinator Mr S Smart