Chair of Governors:   Steve Head
Vice Chair:   Glenn Taylor

The Articles of Association for The Cowplain School, formerly Cowplain Community School, were established on 1 April 2012 when the School became an academy. 

The Governing Body (FGB) meets nine times per year, out of school hours, and is responsible for pursuing the vision and aims of the Academy and for ensuring compliance with legal requirements emanating from the Department for Education.  (The FGB have decided to hold Zoom meetings until the end of the coronavirus pandemic.)

The FGB shall comprise of more than three Governors; there is no upper limit. The target number is 20 which may include four Parent Governors to be elected by the parents of registered students, up to four employees of the Academy one of whom will be the Headteacher, the other three are to be elected by employees of the Academy. It is desirable that at least one Staff Governor should be a non-teacher. Parent and Staff Governors shall be elected for a four year term of office and may complete this term if they become ineligible (pupil or staff leaving the Academy) at the discretion of the Chair and FGB.

Further appointments to the FGB will be at the discretion of the members and trustees. With the exception of the Headteacher, members of the Governing Body will serve for a period of four years and will be eligible for re-election or co-option.

The Governing Body may appoint Associate Governors, who may attend meetings and may participate in any discussions that take place at these meetings. Associate Governors will not have the right to vote at meetings of the Governing Body unless this is authorised by the FGB.

The FGB must appoint at least three Governors from within the FGB to be members having overall responsibility for FGB matters. One of these will be the Chair. The members will hold a general meeting at the end of each academic year.

The Head Boy and Girl may attend FGB meetings where their input will be encouraged. They will not be present for confidential matters and matters naming individual staff and students.

Link Governors

Lead Child Protection and Safeguarding Governor:  Steve Head

Lead Finance Governor:  Chris Scott

Lead Pupil Discipline Governor:  Susan Young

Lead Site Health and Safety Governor:  Chris Scott

Lead Training Governor:  Glenn Taylor

Governors’ relevant business and pecuniary interests; material interests arising from relationships

At the beginning of every meeting each Governor has to declare any pecuniary interest in agenda items. In addition Governors have to declare employment, business and pecuniary interest for themselves and people with whom they have relationships through family or by association; this is done by filling in a form annually. Details taken from the form are kept on a register by the school’s Finance Officer and are checked by the Headteacher and Chair of Governors. None of the Governors has any pecuniary interest in the school and none is related to anyone with a potential pecuniary interest.

See links to Governor Information, Register of Business Interests, Terms of Reference and Scheme of Delegation.

Parent and Staff Governor vacancies will be advertised; those wishing to become Community Governors should apply to the Chair.


Should you wish to contact a member of the Governing Body, please do so via the Clerk to the Governors through the school by telephone on 023 9261 2020 or email the Main Office or in writing c/o The Cowplain School, Hart Plain Avenue, Cowplain, Waterlooville, Hants, PO8 8RY.  Complaints should be made in accordance with the schools Complaints Procedures and individual Governors should not be involved as this will preclude them serving on any panel if the matter proceeds.